

Civic Centre, Crook, County Durham. DL15 9ES Tel: 01388 765555 Fax: 01388 766660 <u>Minicom: 01388 761515 e-mail: i.phillips@wearvalley.gov.uk</u> Iain Phillips Chief Executive

8th March 2005

Dear Councillor,

I hereby give you Notice that a Meeting of the COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE, CROOK on WEDNESDAY, 16TH MARCH 2005 at 6.00 P.M.

## AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for absence.
- 2. To consider the Minutes of the last Meeting of the Committee held on 19th January 2005 as a true record copies previously circulated.
- 3. To consider proposals to amend and adopt the Durham Sport Child Protection Policy.
- 4. To endorse actions taken by officers regarding negotiations with the landowners of Howden-le-Wear allotments.
- 5. To consider implications to the bulky waste collection service following Durham County Council's decision to implement a permit scheme at all household waste recycling centres.
- 6. To receive an update on the progress of the implementation of wheeled bin and green waste collection services.
- 7. To consider initial proposals regarding an internal waste recycling strategy.
- 8. To consider the removal of Play Areas Church Rise Estate, Willington.
- 9. To consider the Special Events Programme 2005.
- 10. To consider the Community Services Department Service Plan 2005/06.
- 11. To consider proposed revisions to the management arrangements of the Community and Cultural Services Section and Community Services Department.\*
- 12. To consider revised staffing arrangements within the Public Protection Section.\*
- 13. To consider such other items of business which, by reason of special circumstances so specified, the Chair of the meeting is of the opinion should be considered as a matter of urgency.

\* It is likely that items 11 to 12 inclusive will be taken in the closed part of the meeting in accordance with paragraphs 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Yours faithfully

Ai-Cinting

Chief Executive

Members of this Committee:

Councillors Mrs. Brown, Clements\*, Dobinson, Ferguson, Gale, Grogan, Harrison, Hayton, Mrs Hilditch, Mrs Jones\*, Kingston, Nevins, Perkins, Mrs. Pinkney, J. Shuttleworth and Stonehouse.

\*ex-officio, non-voting capacity.

Chair:

ir: Councillor Kingston

Deputy Chair: Councillor Nevins

TO: All other Members of the Council for information Management Team