

Civic Centre, Crook, County Durham. DL15 9ES Tel: 01388 765555 Fax: 01388 766660 <u>Minicom: 01388 761515 e-mail: i.phillips@wearvalley.gov.uk</u> Iain Phillips Chief Executive

20th July 2005

Dear Councillor,

I hereby give you Notice that a Special Meeting of the HOUSING SERVICES COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE, CROOK on THURSDAY, 28TH JULY 2005 at 4.00 P.M.

AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for absence.
- 2. To consider the strategic objectives and priorities for the Council's Housing Services.
- 3. To consider ways for the Council to engage with the Gypsy and Traveller communities.
- 4. To consider a bid on a cross authority basis for funds to set up a choice based lettings scheme.
- 5. To consider an approach to the medium term future of the repairs and maintenance contract informed by a risk management assessment.
- 6. To consider the employment of an Estate Caretaker for the Woodhouse Close estate.
- 7. To consider the need for a Customer Involvement Strategy and Targets for the Housing Services Department.
- 8. To consider a revised training plan for the Housing Services Department.
- 9. To consider plans to develop a 'Value for Money' strategy for the Housing Services Department.
- 10. To consider proposals regarding a procurement strategy for the Housing Services Department.
- 11. To consider progress on the time bound recommendations of the re-inspection of the Housing Services Department.
- 12. To consider the Draft Hate Crime Policy and Procedure Guide.

- 13. To consider the need for an Equality and Diversity Strategy within the Housing Services Department.
- 14. To consider the Draft Domestic Violence Policy and Procedure Guide.
- 15. To consider the proposed name for the new Arms Length Management Organisation.

Yours faithfully

Ai-Chiniz

Chief Executive

Members of this Committee:	Councillors Mrs Burn, Mrs Douthwaite, Clements*, Ferguson, Gale, Harrison, Mrs Hilditch, Kay, McKellar, Murphy*, Mrs. Pinkney, Mrs Seabury, J. Shuttleworth, Sinclair, Stonehouse and Mrs Todd.
	*Ex-officio, non-voting capacity
Chair:	Councillor Gale
Deputy Chair:	Councillor Sinclair

TO: All other Members of the Council for information Management Team