Standards Committee



22 November 2010 Parish and Town Council SubCommittee

Report of Colette Longbottom, Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Members of the Standards Committee on the appointment of a Parish and Town Council Sub-Committee.

Background

- 2. At the meeting of the Standards Committee held on 16 September 2010, Members resolved to appoint a Parish and Town Council Sub Committee of the Standards Committee. Doing so would allow the Committee to fulfill their constitutional obligations in line with paragraph 9.04 of Article 9 of the Constitution of Durham County Council which reads as follows:
 - "The Standards Committee will appoint a sub-committee comprising 3 councillors, 3 parish/town council members and 3 independent members. The remit of the sub-committee will be to support parish and town councillors and their clerks in maintaining high standards of conduct, whether through training or otherwise, and for this purpose to maintain close links with the County Durham Association of Local Councils."
- 3. Members of the Committee were asked to notify Democratic Services of their interest in serving on the Sub Committee, further to which, full membership has now been achieved. The members of the Parish and Town Council Sub Committee are as follows:

County Councillors E Bell, D Farry and W Stelling; Parish Councillors Mrs D Liversidge, J Day and T Batson; Mr B Argyle, Mrs D Balmer and Mrs T Naples.

4. The Parish and Town Council Sub Committee are scheduled to hold their first meeting on 22 November 2010 in order to establish a work programme.

Recommendations

5. It is recommended that the report be noted.

Contact: Jocasta Lawton Tel: (0191) 383 3679