Jill Errington 0191 527 0501 (ext. 4770) 0191 527 0076 Jill. Errington@easington.gov.uk

29th August, 2008 Your ref. Our ref.JE/PH com/dist/order

Dear Councillor/Colleague,

#### District Council of Easington - Thursday 4th September, 2008

In accordance with the Local Government Act, 1972, as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) Act, 1985, Section 100B(4)(b) the Chair, following consultation with the Proper Officer, considers that the following item of business should be considered as a matter of urgency by the meeting of the **District Council of Easington** to be held on **Thursday, 4<sup>th</sup> September, 2008** at **10.00 am :-**

# Town and Country Planning Act 1990 Section 257 - Public Footpath Stopping Up and Diversion Order - Proposed Confirmation of "The District of Easington (Pembroke Place, Peterlee) (No1) Public Path Stopping Up and Diversion Order 2008"

The District Council made the above Order under Section 257 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 on 3<sup>rd</sup> July 2008 because it was satisfied that it was necessary to stop up and divert the footpaths to which the order relates. This would enable development to be carried out in accordance with planning permission granted and therefore resolve the anti social behaviour problems in this location.

The necessary statutory notices and consultations have now been completed and no objections have been received and therefore the Council is requested to consider formally confirming the Order without modification. A copy of the Order is attached.

# **Decision required:**

• The District Council is hereby requested to confirm the District of Easington (Pembroke Place, Peterlee) (No1) Public Path Stopping Up and Diversion Order 2008 without modification and to authorise the Council's Governance & Risk Manager to undertake the necessary confirmation notice procedures.

Yours faithfully,

# **Janet Johnson**

# **Chief Executive**

# To: All Members of the District Council of Easington

Councillors Mrs M Baird, B Bates, E Bell, S Bishop, Mrs G Bleasdale, B Burn, A Burnip, R Burnip, P J Campbell, A Collinson, Mrs E M Connor, R Crute, R Davison, Mrs S Forster, Mrs J Freak, J Haggan, H High, A J Holmes, Mrs E Huntington, G Johnson, Mrs A E Laing, R Liddle, T Longstaff, D Maddison, Mrs J Maitland, Mrs J Maslin, Mrs S Mason, K McGonnell, D Milsom, D Myers, A Napier, Mrs A Naylor, M Nicholls, Mrs M Nugent, C Patching, G Patterson, G Pinkney, B Quinn, D Raine, M Routledge, F Shaw, Mrs B A Sloan, P Stradling, R Taylor, D J Taylor-Gooby, R J Todd, T Unsworth, C Walker, P G Ward, Mrs V M Williams and B Wilson