THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING

OF THE DISTRICT COUNCIL OF EASINGTON

HELD ON THURSDAY 5 MARCH 2009

Present: Councillor R. Taylor (Chair)

Councillors E. Bell, S Bishop, Mrs G Bleasdale, A Burnip, R Burnip, A Collinson, R Crute, R Davison, Mrs J Freak, J Haggan, H High, G Johnson, T Longstaff, Mrs S Mason, D Milsom, G Patterson, G Pinkney, D Raine, Mrs B A Sloan, D J Taylor-Gooby, R J Todd,

T Unsworth and C. Walker

1. HONORARY ALDERMEN

Consideration was given to the report of the Head of Democratic Services on a proposal to bestow the title of Honorary Alderman on two serving Members and two former Members of the District of Easington, a copy of which had been circulated to each Member.

In accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transition Arrangements) (No.2) Regulations 2008, Members were asked to consider bestowing the title of Honorary Alderman on serving Councillors Frank Shaw and Brian Quinn, and former Members Colin Reynolds and Joe Goodwin, in recognition of their eminent services to the Council.

Councillors Shaw and Quinn each had 36 years consecutive service and were due to retire when the Council ceased to exist on 31 March 2009. Former Councillors Colin Reynolds and Joe Goodwin retired from the Council in 2007 with 31 years consecutive service each.

It was unanimously **RESOLVED** that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon serving Councillors Frank Shaw and Brian Quinn, and former Members Colin Reynolds and Joe Goodwin, in recognition of their eminent services to the Council.