Outside body

Local Government Association


The LGA is a voluntary membership body and its’ 422 member authorities cover every part of England and Wales.  Together they represent over 50 million people and spend around £113 billion a year on local services.  They include county councils, metropolitan district councils, English unitary authorities, London boroughs and shire district councils, along with fire authorities, police authorities, national park authorities and passenger transport authorities.  The 22 Welsh unitary authorities are in corporate membership through the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) which retains full autonomy in dealing with Welsh affairs.


It works closely with member authorities to ensure that it targets its’ efforts on the issues that matter most to them.  It works with them to deliver the shared vision of an independent and confident local government sector where local priorities drive public service improvement in every city, town and village and every councillor acts as a champion for their ward and the people they represent.


Contact information

Claire Holloway, Head of Corporate Governance

Our representatives