Outside body

North of England Reserve Forces and Cadets Association


The North of England Reserve Forces and Cadets Association is one of thirteen Associations which cover the United Kindom. They were formed in 1908 and until 1999 were known as Territorial, auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Associations (TAVRAs) and are individual, autonomous bodies established by Act of Parliament, each with its own Scheme of Constitution, drawn up by the Defence Council under the Reserve Forces Act 1996.  These Schemes last for five years, after which re-constitution must take place.  The Associations are largely coterminous with Regional Government boundaries, with the North of England RFCA covering from Berwick to Teesside and across to the Pennines; the same area as the Government Office North East.


The current Scheme requires a membership of up to 150 qualified local individuals who have an interest in supporting the Reserve Forces and Cadets.  The membership of the Association comprises serving and retired members from all three Armed Services and the Cadet Forces, together with representative members from local councils, education authorities, local employers and employees.  The four Lord-Lieutenants are the Association President and Vice-Presidents.


There are two Association Meetings each year to which all members of the Association are eligible to attend.

Our representatives