Browse meetings

Area Planning Committee (South and West)

This page lists the meetings for Area Planning Committee (South and West).

Information about Area Planning Committee (South and West)

The Area Planning Committee (South and West) consists of 16 Members of the Council comprising 8 members representing Electoral Divisions within the Committee’s area and 8 other Members from the rest of the County excluding Members of the Cabinet.


Area Planning Committees have the following functions for their areas:


  • Functions relating to Town and Country Planning and Development Control as set out in Section A of Schedule 1 to the 2000 Regulations unless those matters fall within the remit of the County Planning Committee
  • Power to make limestone pavement order
  • Powers relating to the protection of important hedgerows
  • Powers relating to the preservation of trees
  • Powers relating to complaints about high hedges