Committee details

Area Planning Committee (South and West)

Purpose of committee

The Area Planning Committee (South and West) consists of 16 Members of the Council excluding Members of the Cabinet.


Area Planning Committees have the following functions for their areas:


  • Functions relating to Town and Country Planning and Development Control as set out in Section A of Schedule 1 to the 2000 Regulations unless those matters fall within the remit of the County Planning Committee
  • Power to make limestone pavement order
  • Powers relating to the protection of important hedgerows
  • Powers relating to the preservation of trees
  • Powers relating to complaints about high hedges




Contact information

Support officer: Amanda Stephenson. 03000 269703